Previous | Next

21st Century Schizoid Man

December 01, 2002 / 7:23 p.m.

Hi. This is probably going to be a nice crappy summary entry of a bunch of random and stupid thoughts that I've been having.

1) Now, in Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones, Obi Wan Kenobi goes to this sort of futuristic diner to pay a visit to his friend Dex. The the waitress / robotic unicycle asks him if he wants some "Jawa Juice" and he accepts. We have been debating this for a while: what exactly is Jawa Juice? Is it juice that Jawas like? Or is it juice [made] of Jawa? If it is the latter, we are very concerned.

2) I've dealt with the Stalker, although I will admit I took a coward's way out. Terri suggested that I simply say to him "It is important for you to stop talking to me", thus letting his own imagination run wild thinking I've got a jealous abusive boyfriend who will beat me senseless if he doesn't leave me alone. And so, coward that I am, I unblocked him while he was set to away, messaged him with the aforementioned comment, reblocked him, and then deleted him. *Sigh of relief*. I suppose I should really grow a spine and be honest with him, but frankly I do not actually ever want to speak to him again, and he put me into a position where I couldn't be honest.

3) And just in case he doesn't get the picture, I've entered the witness protection program. Kidding (obviously). What I really mean is that I've dyed my hair [in hopes that he will not recognize me <-- kidding, I dyed it because I was bored]. I'm regressing to my fifteen year-old self again, and I dyed it this blue-black colour that I was obsessed with in Grade Ten and Grade Eleven. I feel particularly angsty right now, and as such am highly amused with myself.

4) While waiting for the dye to set last night, I wandered downstairs with the intention of watching Life As A House for the thousandth time (as a homage to myself, since Sam has black and blue hair in the film). Somehow, while looking at the spines of all Theresa's videos, I was overcome with the sudden and insane urge to watch A Walk To Remember. This is seriously one of the worst movies I have ever seen. And yet it is one of the funniest. So Theresa and I sat down to watch it, and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. We really shouldn't watch movies together, we tend to start finishing the lines with quotes from other movies that seem appropriate, it's terrible. For example, when Mandy Moore says to her father "Daddy, it's just a sweater," it reminded us of Ten Things I Hate About You and we're like "And Hell is just a sauna." Ma ha ha, we kill ourselves.

5) Some actors know how to cry and some don't. You would think that this is an easy skill to have, since it's something everyone does, but it is one of the more difficult things actors have to do. For example, Ewan McGregor's crying scene at the end of Moulin Rouge is absolutely terrible. Shane West in A Walk To Remember is ten thousand times worse. We sat there making fun of him everytime he got all teary-eyed, and we kept saying "he should have gone to the Hayden Christensen School of Crying", for ol' HC is a pretty good crier. He should be, since every roll he does requires extensive waterworks on his behalf. He makes those lip quivers and cheek twitches look completely natural, not like he's going to burst out laughing (pfft, Shane West).

6) And speaking of Hayden Christensen, yesterday was Saturday so naturally we watched Higher Ground. That is seriously one of my favourite tv shows, because of its combination of horribleness/goodness. The episode wasn't even about Scott (HC's character), yet he was absolutely hilarious in the few little scenes he was in. That irritating girl Juliette says to him (as they're climbing down this wall, naturally), "Doesn't it feel good to sweat?", trying to seduce him and the like, and he looks at her like she's insane and is like "No..." She proceeds to call this chick Shelby a skank, and he goes "She is not a skank, she's a woman, and she's my friend, three things I can no longer say about you." Zing! Ten points for Scott! Ah, it was so funny (and I even knew he said this after perusing various Higher Ground websites, yet it was still brilliant). Honestly, this show is very funny, although I'm not sure it's supposed to be. I think my main problem is that I tend to view most drama as comedy. Oh, and Sten, when you come home you have to watch this episode, because there is a fundamental part of it that will make you scream in irritation, and I want to see that. :)

7) On Friday night there was some sort of brand new Muppets Christmas Special on tv, revolving around a last ditch effort to save the beloved Muppet Theatre. Anyway, they put on a performance on Christmas Eve to raise money to pay their rent, and the minute the curtains open, all you see is this sort of Paris circa 1900 looking set. What's this? Well, Gonzo appears in the window of an old windmill and starts singing "...there was a frog..." and I freaked out. Turns out, the title of their performance was Moulin Scrooge!! It was so funny. Those chickens that Gonzo hangs out with played the can-can dancers brilliantly, and of course those random penguins that can be found in various Muppet sketches were the rich and powerful old men who come to play with the young and beautiful creatures of the underworld. It was so fucking well done, I was nearly weeping.

8) Yeah, so I re-started that design site. Migraine Designs. There's not much there yet, only five designs (I think), most of them ones that I've already used on here. But I'm really enjoying my Life As A House design, so maybe I'll make the switch to that one (probably not).

9) And I'm irritated by people who say they will do something and don't. My Anatomy prof said he'd post our test scores outside our lab room (also known as a... lab?) on Wednesday afternoon at the latest. Well, guess who just checked for the scores two hours ago? Guess what still haven't been posted? That's right, the freakin' test scores! I'm so irritated. I'd like to have some semblance of how I'm doing in that course before I go home for Christmas. But, miraculously enough, I got 95% on my lab test! What? Yes, I know! I don't know how that happened either. Seriously, especially since I'm expecting like 60% on the lecture test. Oh well, that bodes well for the future.

10) Melissa at work has an ulcer. How an 18 year-old gets an ulcer from working 25-35 hours a week, I'll never know. I can understand how it started, especially with her working those hours while she was still in school. But she's not in school anymore, and 25-35 is not that many hours, especially when you are a full-timer. Ha ha ha, and her doctor doesn't want her working any more hours than that (fat chance during Christmas season, Doc), and so she's worried now that work is going to stress her out. How is it even possible for work to stress you out, working where she does? Our jobs are the most fun and less stressful jobs you could possibly have. Oh well, whatever.

The song of the day is "21st Century Schizoid Man" by King Crimson (which fucking rocks, and it's on the radio as I type).

Previous | Next

hosted by DiaryLand.com